Mala Jîn

womens medicinal herb garden

a partner project between Rojava and Berlin


About the project

 

The project Mala Jîn von Flamingo e.V. - Network for Fugitive Women and Children - is in close and regular exchange with the local women. It should be a cooperation project between Mala Jîn Berlin and Jinwar, the women's village in Rojava. On both sides, the medicinal herb garden is the focal point. The medicinal herb garden in Jinwar and its management have already begun. We will start preparations for the garden in Berlin in autumn 2019, so that we can start directly with the cultivation of the teas in spring 2020.

Tea samples from the herb garden
Tea samples from the herb garden

What we're going to do:

  • Offer a medicinal herb garden and meeting place in Berlin
  • An online business for alternative women's pharmacy: aloe vera gel, teas, creams, oils, etc.
  • An educational exchange between Jinwar and Berlin: female anatomy, illness, healing
  • Publish a medicinal herb book

Medicine and gynaecology


Based on the science of women, Jineoloji (from the Kurdish: Jin: woman, loji: science, www.jineoloji.org/de/), the aim of the project is to record, preserve and pass on old knowledge in the fields of medicine and gynaecology, mostly handed down orally to women over generations.
It is mostly knowledge that has been forgotten and forced into oblivion by social structures (pharmaceutical industry, patriarchy...).

Women`s village in Jinwar
Women`s village in Jinwar

Empowerment and knowledge transfer

Especially through working for and with refugees at Flamingo e.V., the desire to learn and offer other cultural and alternative forms of dealing with experiences of violence and trauma has grown. We want to create a new place for encounter and political exchange in which old healing methods can be reactivated.
Jinwar in Rojava inspired us to set up a partner project in Berlin. On the one hand because there is no access to alternative healing methods for women here, on the other hand because we want to show solidarity with the women in Rojava and build a sustainable project together. Old and forgotten knowledge of our female ancestors and above all of the high culture of women's history and their natural way of life in Rojava are to be captured, recorded and passed on to future generations.
Through regular Skype meetings, delegation journeys and a joint website, the project is also visible and open to other interested parties.

Mala Jîn - Berlin

Berlin lacks an alternative women's healing centre where exchange, training and women's science can take place. We want to create this place with the medicinal herb garden and an additional seminar room and office. It is to become a centre for participation and self-empowerment, away from stigmatisation and female victimisation. Further training on alternative healing methods for chronic and other illnesses such as :

  •    Migraine
  •    Insomnia
  •    Mourning/Trauma
  •    and other disorders that have lost their natural balance

will be part of our offer for interested girls and women.
The practical application and preparation of ointments, medicine, oils and teas can also be learned.

Timeline

May > August 2019
Planning, documentation, exchange, business plan, writing applications, searching for a garden plot, clarifying open questions, networking
From autumn 2019
Garden construction - the beginning of tea cultivation
From summer 2020
First prototypes for teas, construction of the gynaecological centre, realisation of expert lectures, construction of an online pharmacy (wait for business plan for further timeline points).

We are happy to move into a plot of land of approx. 500m2 on the Jacobi cemetery at Hermannstrasse in Neukölln, next to the Prinzessinnengärten
We are happy to move into a plot of land of approx. 500m2 on the Jacobi cemetery at Hermannstrasse in Neukölln, next to the Prinzessinnengärten

10.000€ for the project!

Vote for Flamingo e.V.!

 

Public Voting!


Delegation trip to Rojava in May 2018

Solidarity network with women* in Rojava

The solidarity delegation, to which also one of our association members belonged, met above all the Kurdish women* movement around the organisation of Kongreya Star.
The delegation was given a warm welcome and was accompanied by Kongreya Star during the stay in Northern Syria from 02.05.2018 to 11.05.2018.

The organization exists since approx. 2005, at that time under the name "yekedia Star" and has grown strongly every year. The women* try to fight together for a social position and participation and thus to change the awareness of the men in the region to women* rights. There are more than 1000 members of different ethnic groups. The delegation met with Yezidi, Arab and Kurdish women* from Kongreya Star.

The work of the women* of Kongreya Star is a very diverse networking of women* in different committees. These are divided into committees of politics, diplomacy, economy, press, society, justice, art and culture, health, defence and communal affairs. In the committee of diplomacy and health, the delegation and the members of the committee were made aware of the need to overcome traumas and violence through an open exchange and to draw strength for political work.

The current wish and goal of the discussions with the delegation is above all to create a European public discourse for the situation of women* and children after the attack, the war contrary to international law and the occupation of Afrin. On the other hand, it was a concern to understand and "experience" the real grassroots democratic organization of women* of Kongreya Star - that there is indeed a great improvement of women* and human rights in the confederal system.

The women* come together in different cities where they exchange ideas. The delegation was in Quamisli, Derik, Konbane, Sheba, and Amude, where they met the local associations of Kongreya Star.

Flamingo e.V. wants to show solidarity with the organization of Kongreya Star and its campaign "#WomenRiseUpForAfrin".

"The campaign 'Women rise up for Afrin' will continue until the occupation by Turkey ends and the people can return", announced the spokeswoman of the Kongreya Star, Evin Siwêd, in a report to the news agency ANHA. The campaign was initiated by the Kurdish women's movement on 8 February this year with the aim of supporting the resistance in Efrîn. As part of the "Women rise up for Afrin" campaign, various women's meetings, actions and seminars have been held in Northern Syria.mThe campaign attracted attention far beyond the borders of Northern Syria. Delegations including doctors, lawyers and activists from France, England, Germany and Argentina came to Northern Syria as part of the campaign and visited, among other places, the women's village of Jinwar and the two camps of the refugees from Efrin in Şehba".

NGOs and state aid organizations refuse their support because the democratic self-administration is not recognized as a state, even regardless of the fact that the fugitives from Afrin are still endangered by evictions and attacks from Turkey.

Besides the urgent financial support for the construction of a hospital for women* and children, generators are needed for the networking and organisation meetings. There is almost no electricity in the whole region. Above all, functioning electricity is indispensable in the rooms in which injured women* and children are accommodated.

The aim of the networking meetings on site and the information about the current situation in Germany is to make the network of supporters* bigger and bigger. The exchange with women* on site through delegation trips is just as important as individual solidarity manifestations and events in Germany.

 

 

The project was supported by

Mala Jîn

Frauen* Heilkräutergarten

Ein Partner*innenprojekt zwischen Rojava und Berlin


Über das Projekt

 

Das Projekt Mala Jîn von Flamingo e.V. - Netzwerk für geflüchtete Frauen und Kinder - ist im engen und regelmäßigen Austausch mit den Frauen vor Ort. Es soll ein Kooperationsprojekt zwischen Mala Jîn Berlin und Jinwar, dem Frauendorf in Rojava sein. Auf beiden Seiten steht der Heilkräutergarten im Mittelpunkt. Der Heilkräutergarten in Jinwar sowie die Bewirtschaftung haben bereits angefangen. Wir werden ab Herbst 2019 mit den Vorbereitungen des Gartens in Berlin anfangen, so dass wir im Frühling 2020 direkt mit der Bewirtschaftung der Tees beginnen können.

Teebeispiele aus dem Heilkräutergarten
Teebeispiele aus dem Heilkräutergarten

Was wir vorhaben:

  • Einen Heilkräutergarten und Treffpunkt in Berlin anbieten
  • Ein Online-Betrieb für Alternative-Frauen-Apotheke: Aloe Vera Gel, Tees, Cremes, Öle, usw.
  • Einen Bildungsaustauch zwischen Jinwar und Berlin: weibliche Anatomie, Erkrankung und
    Heilung
  • Ein Heilkräuter-Buch veröffentlichen

Heilmedizin und Frauenheilkunde

 

Angelehnt an die Wissenschaft der Frauen, Jineoloji (aus dem Kurdischen: Jin: Frau, loji: Wissenschaft, www.jineoloji.org/de/) ist das Ziel des Projektes altes Wissen, meist mündlich über Generationen von Frauen an Frauen überliefert, in den Bereichen der Heilmedizin und Frauenheilkunde festzuhalten, zu bewahren und weiter zu geben.
Es handelt sich um meist in die Vergessenheit geratenes und durch gesellschaftliche Strukturen (Pharmaindustrie, Patriarchat..) zur Vergessenheit gezwungenes Wissen.

Frauendorf in Jinwar
Frauendorf in Jinwar

Empowerment und Wissenstransfer

 

Gerade durch die Arbeit für und mit geflüchteten Frauen bei Flamingo e.V. ist der Wunsch immer größer geworden, andere kulturelle und alternative Formen des Umgangs mit Gewalterfahrungen und Trauma zu lernen und anzubieten. Wir wollen einen neuen Ort für Begegnung und politischen Austausch erschaffen, in dem alte Heilmethoden reaktiviert werden.
Jinwar in Rojava hat uns dazu inspiriert, ein Partnerinnenprojekt in Berlin aufzubauen. Zum einen, da der Zugang zu alternativen Heilungsmethoden für Frauen hier fehlt, zum anderen, da wir uns mit den Frauen in Rojava solidarisieren und gemeinsam ein nachhaltiges Projekt aufbauen wollen.
Altes in Vergessenheit geratenes Wissen unserer weiblichen Vorfahren und vor allem der Hochkultur der Frauengeschichte und deren natürliche Lebensform in Rojava sollen hier aufgefangen, festgehalten und an die folgenden Generationen weitergeben werden.
Durch regelmäßige Skype Meetings, Delegationsreisen und einer gemeinsamen Webseite ist das Projekt auch für andere Interessierte ersichtlich und offen.

Mala Jîn - Berlin

 

Es fehlt in Berlin ein alternatives Frauen-Heilzentrum, in dem Austausch, Fortbildungen und die Wissenschaft der Frauen stattfinden kann. Wir wollen mit dem Heilkräutergarten und einem zusätzlichen Seminarraum / Büro diesen Ort erschaffen. Es soll ein Zentrum für Partizipation und Selbstermächtigung werden, weg von Stigmatisierung und weiblicher Opferrolle. Fortbildungen zu Alternativen Heilmethoden bei chronischen und anderen Erkrankungen wie :

  • Migräne
  • Schlafstörungen
  • Trauer / Trauma
  • und anderen aus der natürlichen Balance geratenen Störungen

werden Teil unseres Angebotes für interessierte Mädchen und Frauen sein.
Auch die praktische Umsetzung und das Zubereiten von Salben, Medizin, Ölen und Tees können erlernt werden.

Timeline

 

Mai > August 2019
Planung, Dokumentation, Austausch, Businessplan, Anträge schreiben, Gartengrundstück suchen, offene Fragen klären, Vernetzung
Ab Herbst 2019
Gartenaufbau - Anfang der Bewirtschaftung von Tees
Ab Sommer 2020
Erste Prototypen für Tees, Aufbau des Frauenheilzentrums, Durchführung von Expertinnenvorträgen, Aufbau einer Onlineapotheke (Businessplan abwarten für weitere Timelinepunkte)

Wir freuen uns, im Herbst ein Grundstück von ca. 500m2 auf dem Jacobi-Friedhof an der Hermannstrasse in Neukölln zu beziehen, neben den Prinzessinnengärten.
Wir freuen uns, im Herbst ein Grundstück von ca. 500m2 auf dem Jacobi-Friedhof an der Hermannstrasse in Neukölln zu beziehen, neben den Prinzessinnengärten.

Hier gibts die Projektskizze als Pdf


10.000€ für das Projekt!

Gib Flamingo Deine Stimme!

 

Public Voting! Wähl Dein Lieblingsprojekt!


Delegationsreise nach Rojava im Mai 2018

Solidarity network with women* in Rojava

Die Solidarische Delegation, der auch eines unser Vereinsmitglieder zugehörte, traf vor allem die kurdische Frauen*bewegung Rund um die Organisation von Kongreya Star.

 

Die Delegation wurde sehr freundlich aufgenommen und von Kongreya Star während des Aufenthalts in Nordsyrien vom 02.05.2018 bis 11.05.2018 begleitet.

 

Die Organisation gibt es seit ca. 2005, damals unter dem Namen „yekedia Star“ und ist jährlich stark gewachsen. Die Frauen* versuchen sich gemeinsam eine gesellschaftliche Stellung und Partizipation zu erkämpfen und somit das Bewusstsein auch der Männer in der Region zu Frauen*rechten zu verändern. Es gibt über 1000 Mitglieder unterschiedlichster ethnischer Gruppen. Die Delegation traf sich mit ezidischen, arabischen und kurdischen Frauen* von Kongreya Star.

 

Die Arbeit der Frauen* dort ist eine sehr vielseitige Vernetzung der Frauen* in unterschiedlichen Komitees. Diese sind u.a. unterteilt in Komitees aus Politik, Diplomatie, Ökonomie, Presse, Gesellschaft, Gerechtigkeit, Kunst und Kultur, Gesundheit, Verteidigung und komunale Angelegenheiten. In dem Komitee der Diplomatie und der Gesundheit wurde zusammen mit der Delegation veruscht, durch einen offenen Austausch erlebte Traumata und Gewalt zu überwinden und gemeisnam Kraft zu schöpfen für die politische Arbeit.

 

Der aktuelle Wunsch und das Ziel in den Gesprächen mit der Delegation sind vorallem eine europäische Öffentlichkeit zu schaffen für die Situation der Frauen* und Kinder nach dem Überfall, dem völkerrechtswidrigen Krieg und der Besatzung Afrins. Zum Anderen war ein Anliegen die reale basisdemokratische Organisation der Frauen* von Kongreya Star zu verstehen und zu "erleben"- das es tatsächlich eine große Verbesserung der Frauen* und Menschenrechte gibt im konförderalen System.

 

Die Frauen* kommen in verschiedenen Städten zusammen, wo sich ausgetauscht wird. Die Delegation war in Quamisli, Derik, Konbane, Sheba, und Amude, wo sie die Ortsverbände von Kongreya Star getroffen haben.

 

Flamingo e.V. möchte sich vorallem solidarisch mit der Organisation von Kongreya Star und ihrer Kampagne „#WomenRiseUpForAfrin“ zeigen.

 

„Die Kampagne ‚Women rise up for Afrin‘ wird andauern, bis die Besatzung durch die Türkei endet und die Menschen zurückkehren können", das gab jetzt die Sprecherin der Kongreya Star, Evin Siwêd, in einer Reportage gegenüber der Nachrichtenagentur ANHA bekannt. Die Kampagne war am 8. Februar dieses Jahres mit dem Ziel, den Widerstand in Efrîn zu unterstützen, von der kurdischen Frauenbewegung initiiert worden. Im Rahmen der Kampagne „Women rise up for Afrin" sind in Nordsyrien diverse Frauenversammlungen, -aktionen und -seminare durchgeführt worden.

Die Kampagne erregte Aufmerksamkeit weit über die Grenzen von Nordsyrien hinaus. So kamen Delegationen, denen Ärztinnen, Rechtsanwältinnen und Aktivistinnen angehörten, aus Frankreich, England, Deutschland und Argentinien im Rahmen der Kampagne nach Nordsyrien und besuchten dort unter anderem das Frauendorf Jinwar und die beiden Camps der aus Efrin geflüchteten Menschen in Şehba.“

 

NGO`s und staatliche Hilfsorganistaionen verweigern ihre Unterstützung, da die demokratische Selbstverwaltung nicht als Staat anerkannt wird, auch ohne Rücksicht auf die Tatsache, dass die Geflüchteten aus Afrin weiter von  Räumungen und Angriffen der Türkei gefährdet sind.

 

Neben der dringenden finanziellen Unterstützung beim Aufbau eines Krankenhauses für Frauen* und Kinder, bedarf es Generatoren für die Vernetzungs- und Organisationstreffen. Strom gibt es in der ganzen Region so gut wie gar nicht. Vor allem in den notbedürftigen Räumen, in denen schwerletzte Frauen* und Kinder untergebracht werden, ist funktionierender Strom unabdingbar.

 

Die Vernetzungstreffen vorort und die Aufklärung über die aktuelle Lage in Deutschland, hat das Ziel, das Netzwerk an Unterstützer*innen immer größer werden zu lassen. Der Austausch mit Frauen* vorort durch Delegationsreisen ist dabei genauso wichtig, wie einzelne solidarische Kundgebungen und Veranstaltungen in Deutschland.

 

 

Das Projekt wurde gefördert von