Hevrin Khalaf

womens medicinal herb garden

a partner project between Rojava and Berlin


 Current information from our project partners*in JINWAR

WOMEN’S STRUGGLE TO DEFEND LIBERATED LAND

Since the 9th of October 2019 systematic attacks and attempts of genocide have continued against the Kurdish, Arab, Armenian and Syriac population of North and East Syria. This occupation is a direct attack on the democratic, social institutions and the democratic self-governance of the people. Those brutal attacks carried out by the Turkish army and jihadist proxy forces are taking place under the command of Turkish terrorist leader Erdogan. Read more...


Hevrin Khalaf
Hevrin Khalaf

Renaming of the medicinal herb garden

In memory of our friend and inspiring politician, who was murdered on 12.10.19 in Rojava during the current war, the medicinal herb garden in Berlin, which is currently under construction, bears her name from now on: Hevrin Khalaf.

About the project

 

Flamingo e.V. - Network for Refugee Women* and Children - is in close and regular exchange with the women's village Jinwar in Rojava. Together, we have built up a partner project that focuses on the medicinal herb garden on both sides.

The management of the garden in Jinwar has already begun. In Berlin, we moved into a garden property in October and completed the preparations for the upcoming cultivation in spring 2020.

One goal of the medicinal herb garden in Berlin is to produce products from the garden through a crowd-funding campaign. For this purpose, we initially offer medicinal herbal teas and creams. The proceeds will go 100% to Jinwar.

In Berlin the project consists of activists from different areas. We are doctors, midwives, anthropologists, philosophers, gardeners and lawyers, Social workers, artists and therapists.

Tea samples from the herb garden
Tea samples from the herb garden

What we're going to do

 

  • Offer a medicinal herb garden and meeting place in Berlin, for empowerment and creative workshops
  • Build a crowdfunding campaign / An online alternative pharmacy for women: aloe vera gel, teas, creams, oils, etc.
  • An educational exchange between Jinwar and Berlin: female anatomy, disease and healing

Medicine and gynaecology


Based on the science of women, Jineoloji (from the Kurdish: Jin: woman, loji: science), the aim of the project is to record, preserve and pass on old knowledge, mostly handed down orally to women over generations of women, in the fields of medicine and gynaecology.
This is mostly forgotten and by social structures to forgotten forced knowledge.

Women`s village in Jinwar
Women`s village in Jinwar

Empowerment and knowledge transfer

Especially through the work for and with refugee women at
Flamingo e.V., the desire to learn and offer other cultural and alternative forms of dealing with experiences of violence and trauma has become ever greater. We want to create a new place for meeting and political exchange in which knowledge of old healing methods can be reactivated.

 

Jinwar in Rojava inspired us to set up a partner project in Berlin. On the one hand because there is no access to alternative healing methods for women here, on the other hand because we want to show solidarity with the women in Rojava and build a sustainable project together.

Old, forgotten knowledge of our female ancestors and above all of the high culture of women's history and their natural way of life in Rojava are to be collected, recorded and passed on to future generations.

Through regular Skype meetings, delegation trips and a joint website, the project is also visible and open to other interested parties.

Hevrin Khalaf garden in october 2019
Hevrin Khalaf garden in october 2019

Hevrin Khalaf Garden - Berlin

In addition to the management of the medicinal herb garden, we want to create a place where political exchange, creative workshops and advanced training on women's science, as well as alternative healing methods can take place. It should become a place for participation and self-empowerment, away from stigmatisation and female victimisation.

Participatory training on alternative healing methods for chronic and other illnesses such as:

  • Migraine
  • Insomnia
  • Mourning / Trauma

and other disorders out of natural balance will be part of our offer for interested girls and women. The practical implementation and preparation of ointments, medicine, oils and teas can also be learnt by experts in workshops.

The main team consists of women, but it should be a place for everyone! Following in the footsteps of Jinwar, everyone in Berlin is welcome to get involved in the garden or visit us.

Timeline

 

From autumn 2019

Garden construction and planning

Business plan and networking

Video and communication for crowdfunding campaign

 

From spring 2020

Gardening and action days

Garden management and creative / artistic workshops

Beginning of the cultivation of teas

Crowdfunding Campaign

 

From summer 2020

First prototypes for teas

Structure of the medicinal herb garden

Implementation of expert lectures

Establishment of an online pharmacy - website - distribution network

In October 2019 we moved to a plot of land of approx. 500m2 on the Jacobi cemetery at Hermannstrasse in Neukölln, next to the Prinzessinnengärten.
In October 2019 we moved to a plot of land of approx. 500m2 on the Jacobi cemetery at Hermannstrasse in Neukölln, next to the Prinzessinnengärten.

Delegation trip to Rojava in May 2018

Solidarity network with women* in Rojava

The solidarity delegation, to which also one of our association members belonged, met above all the Kurdish women* movement around the organisation of Kongreya Star.
The delegation was given a warm welcome and was accompanied by Kongreya Star during the stay in Northern Syria from 02.05.2018 to 11.05.2018.

The organization exists since approx. 2005, at that time under the name "yekedia Star" and has grown strongly every year. The women* try to fight together for a social position and participation and thus to change the awareness of the men in the region to women* rights. There are more than 1000 members of different ethnic groups. The delegation met with Yezidi, Arab and Kurdish women* from Kongreya Star.

The work of the women* of Kongreya Star is a very diverse networking of women* in different committees. These are divided into committees of politics, diplomacy, economy, press, society, justice, art and culture, health, defence and communal affairs. In the committee of diplomacy and health, the delegation and the members of the committee were made aware of the need to overcome traumas and violence through an open exchange and to draw strength for political work.

The current wish and goal of the discussions with the delegation is above all to create a European public discourse for the situation of women* and children after the attack, the war contrary to international law and the occupation of Afrin. On the other hand, it was a concern to understand and "experience" the real grassroots democratic organization of women* of Kongreya Star - that there is indeed a great improvement of women* and human rights in the confederal system.

The women* come together in different cities where they exchange ideas. The delegation was in Quamisli, Derik, Konbane, Sheba, and Amude, where they met the local associations of Kongreya Star.

Flamingo e.V. wants to show solidarity with the organization of Kongreya Star and its campaign "#WomenRiseUpForAfrin".

"The campaign 'Women rise up for Afrin' will continue until the occupation by Turkey ends and the people can return", announced the spokeswoman of the Kongreya Star, Evin Siwêd, in a report to the news agency ANHA. The campaign was initiated by the Kurdish women's movement on 8 February this year with the aim of supporting the resistance in Efrîn. As part of the "Women rise up for Afrin" campaign, various women's meetings, actions and seminars have been held in Northern Syria.mThe campaign attracted attention far beyond the borders of Northern Syria. Delegations including doctors, lawyers and activists from France, England, Germany and Argentina came to Northern Syria as part of the campaign and visited, among other places, the women's village of Jinwar and the two camps of the refugees from Efrin in Şehba".

NGOs and state aid organizations refuse their support because the democratic self-administration is not recognized as a state, even regardless of the fact that the fugitives from Afrin are still endangered by evictions and attacks from Turkey.

Besides the urgent financial support for the construction of a hospital for women* and children, generators are needed for the networking and organisation meetings. There is almost no electricity in the whole region. Above all, functioning electricity is indispensable in the rooms in which injured women* and children are accommodated.

The aim of the networking meetings on site and the information about the current situation in Germany is to make the network of supporters* bigger and bigger. The exchange with women* on site through delegation trips is just as important as individual solidarity manifestations and events in Germany.

 

 

The project was supported by

Hevrin Khalaf

Frauen* Heilkräutergarten

Ein Partner*innenprojekt zwischen Rojava und Berlin


04. November 2019

Aktuelle Infos von unseren Projektpartner*innen aus JINWAR

WOMEN’S STRUGGLE TO DEFEND LIBERATED LAND

Since the 9th of October 2019 systematic attacks and attempts of genocide have continued against the Kurdish, Arab, Armenian and Syriac population of North and East Syria. This occupation is a direct attack on the democratic, social institutions and the democratic self-governance of the people. Those brutal attacks carried out by the Turkish army and jihadist proxy forces are taking place under the command of Turkish terrorist leader Erdogan. Read more...


Hevrin Khalaf
Hevrin Khalaf

Umbenennung des Heilkräutergartens

 

In Gedenken an unsere Freundin und inspirierende Politikerin, die am 12.10.19 in Rojava während des aktuellen Krieges ermordet wurde, trägt der sich im Aufbau befindende Heilkräutergarten in Berlin von nun an ihren Namen:

Hevrin Khalaf.

Über das Projekt

 

Flamingo e.V. - Netzwerk für geflüchtete Frauen* und Kinder - ist im engen und regelmäßigem Austausch mit dem Frauendorf Jinwar in Rojava. Zusammen haben wir ein Partner*innenprojekt aufgebaut, bei dem auf beiden Seiten der Heilkräutergarten im Mittelpunkt steht.

Die Bewirtschaftung des Gartens in Jinwar hat bereits begonnen. In Berlin haben wir im Oktober ein Gartengrundstück bezogen und die Vorbereitungen für die anstehende Bewirtschaftung im Frühling 2020 abgeschlossen.


Ein Ziel des Heilkräutergartens in Berlin ist durch eine Crowd-Funding Kampagne Produkte aus dem Garten zu produzieren. Dafür bieten wir zunächst Heilkräutertees und Crèmes an. Der Erlös wird zu 100% nach Jinwar gehen.


In Berlin besteht das Projekt aus Aktivist*innen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen.
Wir sind u.a. Ärzt*innen, Hebamme, Anthropologin, Philosophin, Gärtnerin, Jurist*innen,
Sozialarbeiter*innen, Künstler*innen und Therapeut*innen.

Teebeispiele aus dem Heilkräutergarten
Teebeispiele aus dem Heilkräutergarten

Was wir vorhaben:

  • Einen Heilkräutergarten und Treffpunkt in Berlin anbieten, für Empowerment und kreative Workshops
  • Eine Crowdfunding Kampagne aufbauen / Ein Online-Betrieb für Alternative- Frauen-Apotheke: Aloe Vera Gel, Tees, Cremes, Öle, usw.
  • Einen Bildungsaustauch zwischen Jinwar und Berlin: weibliche Anatomie, Erkrankung und Heilung

Heilmedizin und Frauenheilkunde

 

Angelehnt an die Wissenschaft der Frauen, Jineoloji (aus dem Kurdischen: Jin: Frau, loji: Wissenschaft) ist das Ziel des Projektes altes Wissen, meist mündlich über Generationen von Frauen an Frauen überliefert, in den Bereichen der Heilmedizin und Frauenheilkunde festzuhalten, zu bewahren und weiter zu geben.
Es handelt sich um meist in die Vergessenheit geratenes und durch gesellschaftliche Strukturen zur
Vergessenheit gezwungenes Wissen.

Frauendorf in Jinwar
Frauendorf in Jinwar

Empowerment und Wissenstransfer

 

Gerade durch die Arbeit für und mit geflüchteten Frauen bei
Flamingo e.V. ist der Wunsch immer größer geworden, andere kulturelle und alternative Formen des Umgangs mit Gewalterfahrungen und Trauma zu lernen und anzubieten. Wir wollen einen neuen Ort für Begegnung und politischen
Austausch erschaffen, in dem alte Heilmethoden reaktiviert
werden.


Jinwar in Rojava hat uns dazu inspiriert, ein Partnerinnenprojekt in Berlin aufzubauen. Zum einen, da der Zugang zu alternativen Heilungsmethoden für Frauen hier fehlt, zum anderen, da wir uns mit den Frauen in Rojava solidarisieren und gemeinsam ein nachhaltiges Projekt aufbauen wollen.


Altes in Vergessenheit geratenes Wissen unserer weiblichen Vorfahren und vor allem der Hochkultur der Frauengeschichte und deren natürliche Lebensform in Rojava sollen hier aufgefangen, festgehalten und an die folgenden Generationen weitergegeben werden.


Durch regelmäßige Skype Meetings, Delegationsreisen und einer gemeinsamen Webseite ist das Projekt auch für andere Interessierte ersichtlich und offen.

Frauendorf in Jinwar
Frauendorf in Jinwar

Empowerment und Wissenstransfer

 

Gerade durch die Arbeit für und mit geflüchteten Frauen bei
Flamingo e.V. ist der Wunsch immer größer geworden, andere kulturelle und alternative Formen des Umgangs mit Gewalterfahrungen und Trauma zu lernen und anzubieten. Wir wollen einen neuen Ort für Begegnung und politischen
Austausch erschaffen, in dem alte Heilmethoden reaktiviert
werden.


Jinwar in Rojava hat uns dazu inspiriert, ein Partnerinnenprojekt in Berlin aufzubauen. Zum einen, da der Zugang zu alternativen Heilungsmethoden für Frauen hier fehlt, zum anderen, da wir uns mit den Frauen in Rojava solidarisieren und gemeinsam ein nachhaltiges Projekt aufbauen wollen.


Altes in Vergessenheit geratenes Wissen unserer weiblichen Vorfahren und vor allem der Hochkultur der Frauengeschichte und deren natürliche Lebensform in Rojava sollen hier aufgefangen, festgehalten und an die folgenden Generationen weitergegeben werden.


Durch regelmäßige Skype Meetings, Delegationsreisen und einer gemeinsamen Webseite ist das Projekt auch für andere Interessierte ersichtlich und offen.

Hevrin Khalaf Garten im Oktober 2019
Hevrin Khalaf Garten im Oktober 2019

Hevrin Khalaf Garten - Berlin

 

Neben der Bewirtschaftung des Heilkräutergartens wollen wir einen Ort erschaffen, in dem politischer Austausch, kreative Workshops und Fortbildungen zu der Wissenschaft der Frauen*, sowie alternativen Heilmethoden stattfinden können. Es soll ein Ort für Partizipation und Selbstermächtigung werden, weg von Stigmatisierung und weiblicher Opferrolle.

 

Partizipatorische Fortbildungen zu Alternativen Heilmethoden bei chronischen und anderen Erkrankungen wie:

  • Migräne
  • Schlafstörungen
  • Trauer/Trauma

und anderen aus der natürlichen Balance geratenen Störungen werden Teil unsere Angebotes für interessierte Mädchen und Frauen* sein. Auch die praktische Umsetzung und das Zubereiten von Salben, Medizin, Ölen und Tees können in Workshops von Expert*innen erlernt werden.

Das Hauptteam besteht aus Frauen*, aber es soll ein Ort für alle sein! Angelehnt an Jinwar sind auch in Berlin alle willkommen, sich im Garten einzubringen oder uns zu besuchen.

Timeline

 

Ab Herbst 2019
Gartenaufbau und Planung
Business Plan und Vernetzung
Video und Kommunikation für Crowdfunding Kampagne


Ab Frühling 2020
Gartenarbeit und Aktionstage
Bewirtschaftung des Gartens und kreative / künstlerische Workshops
Anfang der Bewirtschaftung von Tees
Crowdfunding Kampagne


Ab Sommer 2020
Erste Prototypen für Tees
Aufbau des Heilkräutergarten
Durchführung von Expertinnenvorträgen
Aufbau einer Onlineapotheke - Webseite - Vertriebsnetz

Im Oktober 2019 haben wir unser Grundstück von ca. 500m2 bezogen. Es befindet sich auf dem Jacobi-Friedhof in der Hermannstrasse 99 in Neukölln direkt neben den Prinzessinnengärten.
Im Oktober 2019 haben wir unser Grundstück von ca. 500m2 bezogen. Es befindet sich auf dem Jacobi-Friedhof in der Hermannstrasse 99 in Neukölln direkt neben den Prinzessinnengärten.

Hier gibts die Projektskizze als Pdf


Delegationsreise nach Rojava im Mai 2018

Solidarity network with women* in Rojava

Die Solidarische Delegation, der auch eines unser Vereinsmitglieder zugehörte, traf vor allem die kurdische Frauen*bewegung Rund um die Organisation von Kongreya Star.

 

Die Delegation wurde sehr freundlich aufgenommen und von Kongreya Star während des Aufenthalts in Nordsyrien vom 02.05.2018 bis 11.05.2018 begleitet.

 

Die Organisation gibt es seit ca. 2005, damals unter dem Namen „yekedia Star“ und ist jährlich stark gewachsen. Die Frauen* versuchen sich gemeinsam eine gesellschaftliche Stellung und Partizipation zu erkämpfen und somit das Bewusstsein auch der Männer in der Region zu Frauen*rechten zu verändern. Es gibt über 1000 Mitglieder unterschiedlichster ethnischer Gruppen. Die Delegation traf sich mit ezidischen, arabischen und kurdischen Frauen* von Kongreya Star.

 

Die Arbeit der Frauen* dort ist eine sehr vielseitige Vernetzung der Frauen* in unterschiedlichen Komitees. Diese sind u.a. unterteilt in Komitees aus Politik, Diplomatie, Ökonomie, Presse, Gesellschaft, Gerechtigkeit, Kunst und Kultur, Gesundheit, Verteidigung und komunale Angelegenheiten. In dem Komitee der Diplomatie und der Gesundheit wurde zusammen mit der Delegation veruscht, durch einen offenen Austausch erlebte Traumata und Gewalt zu überwinden und gemeisnam Kraft zu schöpfen für die politische Arbeit.

 

Der aktuelle Wunsch und das Ziel in den Gesprächen mit der Delegation sind vorallem eine europäische Öffentlichkeit zu schaffen für die Situation der Frauen* und Kinder nach dem Überfall, dem völkerrechtswidrigen Krieg und der Besatzung Afrins. Zum Anderen war ein Anliegen die reale basisdemokratische Organisation der Frauen* von Kongreya Star zu verstehen und zu "erleben"- das es tatsächlich eine große Verbesserung der Frauen* und Menschenrechte gibt im konförderalen System.

 

Die Frauen* kommen in verschiedenen Städten zusammen, wo sich ausgetauscht wird. Die Delegation war in Quamisli, Derik, Konbane, Sheba, und Amude, wo sie die Ortsverbände von Kongreya Star getroffen haben.

 

Flamingo e.V. möchte sich vorallem solidarisch mit der Organisation von Kongreya Star und ihrer Kampagne „#WomenRiseUpForAfrin“ zeigen.

 

„Die Kampagne ‚Women rise up for Afrin‘ wird andauern, bis die Besatzung durch die Türkei endet und die Menschen zurückkehren können", das gab jetzt die Sprecherin der Kongreya Star, Evin Siwêd, in einer Reportage gegenüber der Nachrichtenagentur ANHA bekannt. Die Kampagne war am 8. Februar dieses Jahres mit dem Ziel, den Widerstand in Efrîn zu unterstützen, von der kurdischen Frauenbewegung initiiert worden. Im Rahmen der Kampagne „Women rise up for Afrin" sind in Nordsyrien diverse Frauenversammlungen, -aktionen und -seminare durchgeführt worden.

Die Kampagne erregte Aufmerksamkeit weit über die Grenzen von Nordsyrien hinaus. So kamen Delegationen, denen Ärztinnen, Rechtsanwältinnen und Aktivistinnen angehörten, aus Frankreich, England, Deutschland und Argentinien im Rahmen der Kampagne nach Nordsyrien und besuchten dort unter anderem das Frauendorf Jinwar und die beiden Camps der aus Efrin geflüchteten Menschen in Şehba.“

 

NGO`s und staatliche Hilfsorganistaionen verweigern ihre Unterstützung, da die demokratische Selbstverwaltung nicht als Staat anerkannt wird, auch ohne Rücksicht auf die Tatsache, dass die Geflüchteten aus Afrin weiter von  Räumungen und Angriffen der Türkei gefährdet sind.

 

Neben der dringenden finanziellen Unterstützung beim Aufbau eines Krankenhauses für Frauen* und Kinder, bedarf es Generatoren für die Vernetzungs- und Organisationstreffen. Strom gibt es in der ganzen Region so gut wie gar nicht. Vor allem in den notbedürftigen Räumen, in denen schwerletzte Frauen* und Kinder untergebracht werden, ist funktionierender Strom unabdingbar.

 

Die Vernetzungstreffen vorort und die Aufklärung über die aktuelle Lage in Deutschland, hat das Ziel, das Netzwerk an Unterstützer*innen immer größer werden zu lassen. Der Austausch mit Frauen* vorort durch Delegationsreisen ist dabei genauso wichtig, wie einzelne solidarische Kundgebungen und Veranstaltungen in Deutschland.

 

 

Das Projekt wurde gefördert von